Cong wins 106 seats out of 144 in ADC polls
Source: Hueiyen News Service

Imphal, June 23 2010: The counting of the staggered Manipur (Hill areas) District Council elections concluded peacefully Wednesday with overwhelm victory of the ruling Congress-CPI coalition Secular Progressive Front (SPF) despite Naga bodies' boycott call.

The ruling SPF won 107 seats of the 144 district council constituencies in the polls held in two phases on May 26 and June 2 with re-polls in some polling stations in the later part.

Congress won in 106 seats while CPI secured only one seat.

Congress and CPI, even though coalition partners, fought the election separately.

Trinamool Congress opened its account in the local bodies' election by winning a seat in Churachandpur District.

National Congress Party (NCP) also won in one seat even though 25 seats went to the independent candidates.

No candidate filed nomination in six District Council Constituencies while four were vacated by the nominated candidates in response to the diktat of civil organisations boycotting the election, who attacked and ransacked houses of over 30 candidates in Senapati, Ukhrul and Tamenglong district.

The counting of votes which was commenced from yesterday 8 am completed Wednesday.

Counting for the Senapati, Tamenglong, Chandel and Ukhrul were conducted at the office complex of the Imphal West DC office while that of Churachandpur and Sadar hill ADC were held respectively at district headquarters and Kangpokpi ADC hall.

With the completion of the counting, the final list of elected candidates of 24 seats each six District Councils was declared by the state election commission today.

Out of the 24 ADC seats in Ukhrul ADC, 21 went to Congress including 20 elected uncontested, one to NCP while two seats are lying vacant with candidates retired from the candidatures.

Congress won 19 seats in Chandel ADC while the rest five went to independent candidates.

For the Tamenglong ADC, Congress won 19 seats out of which 12 were elected uncontested and the remaining went to independent candidates.

In Senapati ADC elections, Congress secured 14 seats including 12 uncontested and independent candidates won two seats.

In this district eight seats are laying vacant after no persons filed nominations in six DCCs and candidates in two DCCs retired from contesting the elections.

The final poll results of the Kuki dominated two ADCS of Churachandpur and Sadar hill of Senapati districts also showed marginal victory of the Congress.

Congress won 18 out of 24 seats in Churachandpur ADC, CPI, the ruling partner of Congress won one seat.

Trinamool Congress also opened its account in the district by winning in one of the seats.

Out of the 18 seats won by Congress, 12 were elected uncontested.

In Sadar hill ADC also Congress won 17 seats including 12 uncontested while seven seats went to Independent candidates.