Political parties state stand on AFSPA
Source: The Sangai Express

Imphal, January 30: The public session on �Repeal Armed Forces (special Powers) Act : Conviction of Political Parties, entered the second day today with representatives of political organisations, newspaper editors and members of civil society organisations expressing their respective views on the subject at manipur Press Club.

The morning session of the interactive programme being organised by the Working Committee of the Apunba Lup was represented by political leaders of the Manipur People�s Party (MPP), and State units� of Rashtriya Janata Party (RJD) and Nationalists Congress Party (NCP).

The participants which included MPP general secretary AC Jayenta, RJD general secretary N Ibohal and NCP�s secretary K Sharatkumar were unanimous that once they are elected to power or become a ruling partner in the next Government the respective political organisations would initiate/press for repealing AFSPA.

As panel members of the discussion session, lecturer of Imphal College Dr K Sethajit and advocate Kh Chonjon quizzed the political representatives on what process/steps they would adopt for repealing the Act apart from airing their respective observations on the comments.

media establishments of the State represented by editors Pradip Phanjoubam (Imphal Free Press), A Mobi (matamgee Ichel) and Hemanta (Panthung) highlighting continued violence inspite of the AFSPA being lifted from Imphal Municipal areas questioned the political functionaries what legislations they would prescribe to curb wanton killings.

The responses of the political leaders centred around taking the people and intellectuals into confidence for enacting a law/act that could control the situation but nevertheless keep the proposed law/act under wrap contending that as they are not a party to the present Government it would be premature to place their respective proposals.

The afternoon session was attended by leaders of the National People�s party (NPP) and Samajwadi Party (SP) respectively represented by vice president K Sarat and general secretary Ch Premchandra.

AMUCO advisor Dr Dhanabir Laishram and former principal of Ananda Singh Hr Sec Academy RK Gopal were the panel members of the session while the media was represented by editor Kh Loyalakpa (Naharolgi Thoudang) and associate editor S Rajen (Huiyen Lanpao).

Functionaries of various civil society organisations also raised posers with regard to the discussion theme on the penultimate day today.