Notification for first phase issued, polling on May 26
Govt sets ball rolling for ADC polls amid opposition

Source: The Sangai Express

Imphal, April 26 2010: With the Congress led led SPF Government under Chief Minister O Ibobi sticking to its stand of going ahead with the election to the Autonomous District Councils in the hill districts, despite opposition from some quarters, the State Election Commission today issued the election notification for the first phase.

After more than 20 years, the election to the six Autonomous District Councils in the hills is to be held in two phases.

Announcing issuing of the election notification for the first phase in a press conference at the office of the Commission located at Lamphelpat here this afternoon, Secretary of State Election Commission Th Chitra Devi informed that the notification for the second phase of the election would come out after a week.

The first phase of the election would cover the Autonomous District Councils of Chandel, Sadar Hills and Churachandpur while the Autonomous District Councils of Senapati, Ukhrul and Tamenglong will be held in the second phase, she said, adding that the code of conduct of the election too has been effected from today.

According to the election notification, the last date of filing the nominations to contest in the first phase of the ADC election is May 3, scrutiny would be on May 4 and the date for withdrawal of candidatures is May 6.The polling would be held from 7 am to 3.30 pm on May 26 and the all the necessary election process would be completed before June 16 .

Explaining that the election is to be held to elect 72 members and there would be 24 Constituencies in each of the Autonomous District Councils, the Election Commission Secretary further informed that the polling would be conducted in 552 polling stations including 169 in Sadar Hills, 128 in Chandel and 255 in Churachandpur.

Inclusive of the presiding officers, 5 polling personnel would be deployed in each of the polling stations and a total of 3035 polling personnel including those in reserve would be utilised in the first phase of the election.

Election in the ADC Sadar Hills would be conducted under the supervision of three Returning Officers (ROs).

There would be nine constituencies under jurisdiction of SDO Kangpokpi, six under SDO Saitu-Gamphajol and nine constituencies under SDO Saikul.

For ADC Chandel, conduct of the election would be supervised by five ROs and there would be in all 4 constituencies each under ADC Moreh and SDO Machi, 3 constituencies under SDO Tengnoupal, 7 constituencies under SDO Chandel and 6 constituencies under SDO Chakpikarong.

In case of ADC Churachandpur, the poll would be conducted under the supervision of five ROs.

There would be in all 12 constituencies under SDO Churachandpur, 3 constituencies each under SDO Henglep, SDO Thanlon, SDO Tipaimukh and SDO Singngat, Chitra said.

The security requirement and the security categorisation for ensuring the smooth conduct of the first phase of the election would be arranged by the Home Department of the State Government, she added.

In response to a question on whether filing of nomination papers would be allowed at Imphal in view of the opposition in the hills over the demand for rectifying the ADC Act, Chitra said that the Commission would have no problem in giving its approval to the suggestions given by the District Election Officers and ROs from time to time.

To a question on the possible impact of the ongoing cease work strike of the employees in the conduct of the election, she promptly replied that as of now there has been no problem and nothing could be said about the future.

It may be recalled here that after deferring issuing of the election notification for the first phase on April 15 and for the second phase on April 22, the conduct of the ADC election has been rescheduled following a State Cabinet decision on April 22 .