Cong falls short of majority by one seat, MPP wave ends in anti-climax
Mixed bag for UNC candidates, scores six out of 11
Waterloo for many heavy weights, Ibobi scripts history winning from 2 seats
Source: The Sangai Express

Imphal, February 27: The Congress is set to form the next Government bagging 30 seats out of the 59 seats in which it contested in the 60 member Assembly.

With the Congress all set to form the Government, AICC leaders are expecting to arrive here soon to choose the CLP leader.

At the moment there are some AICC leaders in town.

Bijoy Koijam of the INC who retained the Thongju AC seat has thanked all his supporters and the people for reposing their trust on him again.

The MPP which was expected to give a tough fight to the Congress at the hustings came a cropper with only 5 of its candidates emerging winners while many of its political stalwarts bit the dust.

Making its debut in the State Assembly, the Nationalist Congress Party did reasonably well by bagging five seats.

The State unit president of the party, Radhabinod Koijam romped home comfortably from the prestigious Thangmeiband Assembly Constituency beating his nearest Congress rival Jyotin Waikhom.

Ally of the Congress in SPF, the CPI maintained its status by bagging four seats, though one of its senior leaders, Dr M Nara could not retain his Wangjing Tentha seat losing to Congress candidate M Hemanta.

Though former Chief Minister and State unit chief of the RJD, Nipamacha once again lost from Wangoi AC, the party made its debut in the State Assembly by bagging three seats.

The Nationalist People's Party founded by former Minister Hangkhanlian also bagged three seats.

Independent candidates accounted for 10 seats with six of the UNC sponsored candidates romping home.

Chief Minister O Ibobi led the Congress juggernaut winning from the two Assembly segments in which he contested by comfortable margins.

Ibobi was elected from his home turf Khangabok AC as well as from Thoubal AC.

Despite the United Naga Council putting up its consensus candidate in Nungba Assembly Constituency in Tamenglong district, MPCC (I) president Gaikhangam romped home by a comfortable margin.

Congress leaders who were in the Council of Ministers in the SPF Government and managed to retain their seats include, Phungzathang Tonsing from CCpur AC, Th Debendra from Jiribam AC, L Nandakumar from Uripok AC, Govindas Konthoujam from Bishnupur AC, TN Haokip from Saikot AC and Allaudin Khan from Keirao AC.

Congress candidates who were in the Council of Ministers but were defeated in the hustings are, W Leima Devi from Naoria Pakhanglakpa, Francis Ngajokpa from Tadubi AC and DK Korungthang from Tengnoupal AC.

Other prominent Congress to lose their seats include, RK Theko of Mao AC, A Aza of Chingai AC, C Doungel of Saikul AC and Dr Maniruddin who was the Speaker in the 8th Assembly.

Interestingly from the four Naga dominated district of Senapati, Ukhrul, Chandel and Tamenglong, only two Congress candidates emerged victorious.

The two are MPCC (I) president Gaikhangam from Nungba AC and D Thaisii from Karong AC.

The surprise package was the victory of K Panmei an Independent candidate from Tamenglong AC who defeated his nearest rival Samuel Jendai, the sitting MLA and sponsored by the UNC.

K Panmei was abducted by the NSCN (IM) cadres and was literally forced to announce that he had withdrawn from the election.

The winners, their parties and ACs

1) K Ranjit - Sugnu - Sitting MLA
2) Okram Ibobi - Thoubal - Newly elected
3) K Meghachandra - Wangkhem - Newly electe
4) M Oken - Heirok - Ex-MLA
5) M Hemanta - Wangjing Tentha - Ex-MLA
6) Okram Ibobi - Khangabok - Sitting MLA
7) Y Surchandra - Kakching - Newly elected
8) E Dwijamani - Hiyanglam - Newly elected
9) DD Thaisii - Karong - Newly elected
10) N Biren - Heingang - Sitting MLA
11) Bijoy Koijam - Thongju - Sitting MLA
12) Md Allauddin - Keirao - Sitting MLA
13) L Nandakumar - Uripok - Sitting MLA
14) Dr Kh Loken - Sagolband - Ex-MLA
15) L Jayentakumar - Keishamthong - Ex-MLA
16) I Hemochandra - Singjamei - Sitting MLA
17) E Kunjeswar - Yaiskul - Ex-MLA
18) Y Erabot - Wangkhei - Sitting MLA
19) W Brajabidhu - Lamshang - Sitting MLA
20) Dr Budhi - Konthoujam - Sitting MLA
21) Kh Ratankumar - Mayang Imphal - Newly elected
22) N Loken - Nambol - Sitting MLA
23) M Manindra - Moirang - Newly elected
24) T Mangibabu - Thanga - Ex-MLA
25) K Govindas - Bishnupur - Sitting MLA
26) Th Debendra - Jiribam - Sitting MLA
27) Gaikhangam - Nungba - Sitting MLA
28) Manga Vaiphei - Henglep - Sitting MLA
29) Phungzathang - Churachandpur - Sitting MLA
30) TN Haokip - Saikot - Sitting MLA

INDEPENDENT 1) M Thorii - Mao - Ex-MLA
2) Haokholet - Saitu -Ex-MLA
3) K Panmei - Tamenglong - Newly elected
4) S Kunjakishore - Patsoi - Newly elected

MPP 1) O Joy - Langthabal - Sitting MLA
2) Dr Ng Bijoy - Khurai - Newly elected
3) Th Shyamkr - Andro - Newly elected
4) RK Anand - Naoriya Pakhangalakpa - Newly elected
5) I Ibohalbi - Oinam - Newly elected

1) RB Koijam - Thangmeiband - Ex-CM
2) S Joy - Wangoi - Newly elected
3) Th Nabakumar - Khundrakpam - Newly elected
4) Th Nandkishore - Kshetrigao - Newly elected
5) Doukhomang K - Saikul - Newly elected
CPI 1) Ph Parijat - Lamlai - Sitting MLA
2) N Mangi - Kumbi - Sitting MLA
3) H Borajao - Sekmai - Newly elected
4) Usham Deben - Wabagai - Newly elected

1) Md Hellaluddin - Lilong - Ex-MLA
2) Ngungsarlung - Tipaimukh - Ex-MLA
3) Thangkholun - Chandel - Newly elected

1) Thangminlien - Kangpokpi - Sitting MLA
2) V Hangkhanlian - Thanlon - Ex-MLA
3) T Hangkhanpao - Singhat - Ex-MLA

UNC CANDIDATES - Independents
1) W Keishing - Phungyar - Sitting MLA
2) Khasim Ruivah - Chingai - Sitting MLA
3) Danny Shaiza - Ukhrul - Sitting MLA
4) K Raina - Tadubi - Ex-MLA
5) Morung M - Tengnoupal - Ex-MLA
6) A Newmei - Tamei - Newly elected.