Cong declares candidates
Source: Hueiyen News Service

Imphal, May 10 2010: The Manipur Pradesh Congress Committee (MPCC) on Monday declared its 68 INC candidates for the second phase election of Manipur (Hill Areas) District Council in the constituencies of Ukhrul, Tamenglong and Senapati districts for which the poll is slated for June 2 .

Announcing this today, out of the 24 seats in each District Councils, INC has fielded 23 candidates in Tamenglong, out of 24 seats in Senapati-21candidates of INC are in fray and for Ukhrul, out of 24 seats24 candidates of INC will be contesting.

Today was the last day for the fielding of nomination for the second phase elections of the three districts of Manipur.

It can be noted here that atleast 30 INC candidates for Churchandpur, Chandel and Sadar hills District Council have been already declared uncontested for the first phase election.

The district council constituencies of Senapati, Ukhrul and Tamenglong altogether have 468 polling stations to elect 72 council members.

The scrutiny will be held on May 11.The last date of withdrawal of candidatures will be May 13 while the polling will take place on June 2 between 7 am and 3.30 in the afternoon.