ADC members to take oath on Jun 26
Source: The Sangai Express

Imphal, June 24 2010: Elected Members of the six Autonomous District Councils will take oath to office in a grand function scheduled on May 26 at Khuman Lampak Indoor Stadium here.

A top official of the Tribal Development and Hills Department informed that the respective Deputy Commissioners will administer oath of office to the elected ADC Members collectively on June 26 .

The oath taking ceremony will also feature a grand feast.

Winning 106 seats out of 144 total ADC seats, Congress recorded a landslide victory in the ADC elections held after a gap of 20 years.

Voters line up to cast their votes at a CCpur booth

In Churachandpur district, Congress won 18 seats, Trinamool Congress and CPI won one each while independent candidates secured four seats.

In Sadar Hills, INC got 17 and independents seven.

In Chandel, INC got 19, NCP one and independents four.

In Senapati, INC got 14 and independents got two while eights seats still remain vacant.

In Tamenglong, INC won in 19 and independents secured seven seats.

In Ukhrul district, INC got 21 and NCP one while two seats remain vacant.

Notably, the State Government has asked relevant DCs to submit reports of arson and vandalism which targeted Government offices in the run up to the elections so that the destroyed/damaged offices can be rebuilt at the earliest.

The total blockade imposed by ANSAM and backed by the UNC on the National Highways for 68 days was in protest against the decision of the Government to go ahead with the ADC election after 20 years.

The boyott call had constrained many to withdraw from the fray.