ADC vote counting on June 22
Source: Hueiyen News Service / Newmai News Network

Imphal, June 19 2010: Counting of votes for elections to the District Council elections, held in two phases on May 26 and June 2 with re-polls in some polling stations on June 12 and June 16, will be conducted on June 22 (Tuesday) next, official source said Saturday.

Mention may be made that the pollings to six district councils including Sadar Hills District Council was held in two phases on May 26 and June 2 last amid boycotts in Naga dominated districts of Senapati, Tamenglong, and Ukhrul district demanding nullify of the Manipur (Hill areas) District Council (Third Amendment) Act, 2008 .

Re-poll in some polling stations, where necessitated due to disturbances by the boycott supporters and snatching and damaging of ballot boxes and papers, were conducted on June 12 and June 16 by postponing earlier schedule of counting which was fixed June 7 .

Ballot boxes of Senapati, Ukhrul, Chandel and Tamenglong districts were brought to Imphal and deposited at the 'strong rooms' of the Imphal West DC office after the commission decided to conduct the counting in Imphal for these district councils.

The counting of elections for Churachandpur and Sadar Hills ADCs will be held at the district headquarters and ADC hall of Sadar Hills at Kangpokpi respectively on June 22 next, officials said.