Ballot boxes start arriving
Source: Hueiyen News Service

Imphal, June 03 2010: Counting of votes for the elections to the Manipur (Hill Areas) District Council will be held in Imphal, at the Imphal West DC office, official source from the state election commission said today.

Ballot boxes along with polling materials have started reaching from the hill districts headquarters where polling had been over.

All the ballot boxes reaching the districts headquarters of Senapati and Ukhrul where the polling was conducted Wednesday amid the boycott and bandhs have started arriving in Imphal today.

Fifty four ballots including 22 empty boxes for six District Council Constituencies (DDCs) in respect of Senapati district arrived at Imphal and deposited at the strong room of the Imphal west DC office at Lamphel at about noon.

Troops of Border Security Forces transported the polling materials.

Polling was conducted in six DDC constituencies in Senapati district.

Overall turned up of voters was recorded at 52.87 percent even though no voters turned up in some of the polling stations.

In 4-Tungam constituency no voting in all the polling stations while 48.24% recorded in respect of 9-Yangkhullen constituency where not a single voter turned up to cast votes in three polling stations �9/2 Chakha, 9/3 Tamphung and 9/7 Makuilongdi.

In the 17-Phaibung Khullen constituency, no voter turned up for casting votes in five polling stations but final report of two polling stations are yet to come in, officials at Senapati district said.

Polling took place in all six polling stations under 18-Ngari Khullen constituency where overall average turned out of voter was recorded at 71.71 percent.

In the same manner polling was peacefully conducted in all the six polling stations of 19-Lakhamai with 86.37 percent.

In 21-Oinam constituency, out of the total eight polling stations, except 21/5Thingba Khullen (A) and 21/6-Thingba (B), there was no voting in rest six polling stations.

The average voting was recorded at only 5.17% .

On the other hand, Senapati District Magistrate, Nidhi Kesarwani has promulgated 144 CrPC in the district headquarters prohibiting assembly of five or more persons, carrying of lethal weapons, fire arms of any description or objects with from 9 pm to 5 am everyday.

The prohibition will be enforced within the area surrounding the headquarters up to NH-39 Karong Bridge (Barak River) on the north Mt Everest College, Taphou Phymai village upto Taphou Naga Village on the south, Kabung Karong Hill Range upto Ankailongdi on the east and Maram Khunou upto Taphou Naga village on the west, the order issued today stated.

Meanwhile, two more houses of candidates elected uncontested in the district were ransacked by masked miscreants suspected to be supporter of election boycott last night.

The houses damaged in the ransacks belong to Congress candidates, Athikho and Pune Khalle, police report said adding that the house of Athikho at Pudunamei village was ransacked at about 7.40 pm while that of Pune Khalle at Makhel village at about midnight.

Ballots boxes of three DDC constituencies out of four constituencies in Ukhrul district have also arrived at Imphal and deposited at strong room of the Imphal West DC office.

Official said that the ballot boxes along with polling materials Chingai, Phungyar and Kasom Khullen DDC constituencies have been transported by the Border Security Force from Ukhrul district headquarters to Imphal today.

However, the overall poll percentage for the four constituencies are yet to be calculated, official said adding it would be finalized after the ballot boxes of polling stations.

The final reports of poll percentage 20 constituencies in Tamenglong district are yet to officially available till today.

A report from the district headquarters said that so far ballot boxes of 22 polling stations reached and deposited at the DC office.

In the meanwhile, at least 14 Congress injured in clash with workers of Independent candidate in another poll violence incident in Tamenglong district erupted during the poll hour yesterday, a delay report received here said today.

Police said the clash was erupted in one of the polling stations under Kuilong DDC constituency of the district yesterday during the polling hour.

The 14 workers of Congress candidates have been treated at Tamenglong district hospital.