Counting of ADC election today
Source: Hueiyen News Service

Imphal, June 21 2010: Elaborate arrangements for the counting of ADC election held in two phases on May 26 and re-polls in some polling stations in later part were all set to conduct tomorrow.

The counting of votes for elections to the District Council elections for four ADCs of Chandel, Tamenglong, Senapati and Ukhrul will be conducted at the Imphal west DC office complex while that of Churachandpur and Sadar hills it will be conducted at the district headquarters and ADC hall of Sadar Hill at Kangpokpi respectively.

Imphal west police made traffic diversion and parking arrangement in connection with the counting of votes at As per traffic regulation announced by the senior SP, Imphal west, L Kailun today no vehicle will be allowed entry inside the DC office complex, Lamhpel except vehicles of officials related with counting.

Vehicles coming from Langol Game village side will be diverted from Zone-IV NGV crossing towards Iroishemba side or Shija Hospital road.

No vehicle except those on election duty and other mention below, will not allow entering DC road, Naoremthong Laishram Leirak, Mechanise farm road, Lamphel.

Vehicles of district magistrate, additional district magistrate of Imphal west district, secretary of state election commission and his staff.

Election observers and their liaison officers, DEO, DC Chandel, Senapati, Tamenglong and Ukhrul will also be allowed.

The vehicles of the returning officer and assistant returning officer of sub-divisions of Chandel, Tamenglong, Ukhrul and Senapati district, all contesting candidates of the four ADCs and duty magistrate, Imphal west district will also be allowed to enter on the complex, the statement of the Senior SP informed.

The vehicles of election related officers can be parked inside the complex of the DC office while for government and private vehicles belonging to the VIPs, election observers and contesting candidates, election agents, counting officials and official on election duty will be parked inside the complex of the commissioner (excise) and office complex of the registrar, co-operative societies.

These vehicles from the parking areas will take the route through NG College by-lane while leaving the counting place.

Reports from Churachandpur and Kangpokpi also said that all necessary arrangement for smooth conduct of counting has been made.

The polling to six district councils including Sadar Hills District Council was held in two phases on May 26 and June 2 last amid boycotts in Naga dominated districts of Senapati, Tamenglong, Ukhrul and Senapati district demanding nullify of the Manipur (Hill areas) District Council (Third Amendment) Act, 2008 .

Re-poll in some polling stations where necessary for fresh polls arose due to disturbances by the boycott supporters and snatching and damaging of ballot boxes and papers were conducted on June 12 and June 16 by postponing earlier schedule of counting on June 7 .

Ballot boxes of Senapati, Ukhrul, Chandel and Tamenglong district were transferred to Imphal and deposited at the strong rooms of the Imphal West DC office after the commission decided to conduct the counting in Imphal for these district councils.