Wungnaoshang Keishing attends session
Source: Hueiyen News Service

Imphal, July 07 2010: Independent MLA Wungnaoshang Keishing, who was among the six UNC backed MLAs who had submitted resignation papers as members of the Manipur Legislative Assembly to the Speaker, turned up to attend the budget session which began today.

No other Independent MLA, who had submitted resignation paper to the Speaker along with Wungnaoshang Keishing, was seen attending the session.

Even though their resignation papers were submitted in the first week of May last in protest against the government's decision to ban general secretary of NSCN(IM), Thuingaleng Muivah from visiting Manipur and against the holding of ADC elections.

The six MLAs from Naga dominated hill districts, W Morung Makunga from Tengnoupal A/C of Chandel district, Awangbow Newmai from Tamei A/C of Tamenglong district, K Raina from Tadubi A/C, M Thorii from Mao A/C of Senapati district, Dr Kashim Ruivah from Chingai A/C and Danny Shaiza of Ukhrul A/C of Ukhrul district along with the Wungnaoshung Keishing from Phungyar A/C of Ukhrul had tendered their resignation to the Speaker of the state Assembly.

The acceptance of the Speaker, Dr Sapam Budhichandra is yet to give to their resignation till date even though he formally summoned them to explain their propose resignations as members of the state Assembly.

Except Wungnaoshung, other five of the MLAs were not seen attending the session today.

He also left the house after around 10 minutes of stay there.