Three ADCs to be set up today
Source: The Sangai Express

Imphal, July 13 2010: After three Autonomous District Councils have been set up in the aftermath of the ADC election which was held amidst strong protests and subversive activities, the remaining three ADCs for Sadar Hills, Chandel and Ukhrul will be set up tomorrow with Congress Members as leaders.

ADCs for Senapati, Tamenglong and Churachandpur have been already established.

Chairmen for Ukhrul ADC, Chandel ADC and Sadar Hills ADC will be elected tomorrow.

For Sadar Hills, voting for election of Chairman will be held at Kangpokpi.

However, voting for election of Chairmen of Chandel and Ukhrul ADC's will be held at Khuman Lampak.

In view of the threats and strong opposition witnessed in Chandel, Tamenglong, Ukhrul and Senapati districts, ADCs of these districts will function from Imphal for some time.

Already, many Government offices have been burnt or ransacked in these districts in the run up to the ADC elections and after which some Naga civil societies boycotted demanding deferment of the election until the ADC Act was amended.

Meanwhile, Congress ADC Member Demmang Haokip has been elected vice-chairman of Churachandpur ADC, reports our correspondent.