Many more file papers
Source: The Sangai Express

Imphal, January 18: With the first phase of polling for Assembly elections approaching fast, candidates belonging to different political parties as well as independent contestants filed their nomination papers today.

With the approval of the Election Commission to file nomination papers at Imphal instead of Ukhrul or Senapati, Victor Keishing (INC) of 43 Phungyar, A Aza (INC) of 45 Chingai, Aleng Shimrah (INC) of 44 Ukhrul and independent candidate of 43 Phungyar N Solomon filed their nomination papers at Imphal.

Manipur People's Party also declared second phase of candidates' name today.

The MPP candidates covering assembly segments in the three districts of Bishnupur, Imphal West and Imphal East are S Gopal (Moirang), A Angousana (Kumbi), N Sanajaoba (Bishnupur), Dr I Ibohalbi (Oinam), Th Chaoba (Nambol), P Achou (Uripok), L Ibomcha (Keishamthong), O Joy (Langthabal), Dr L Chandramani (Patsoi), RK Anand (Naoria-Pakhanglakpa), S Rajen (Lamshang), Kh dinamani (Sekmai), M Nillachandra (Mayang Imphal), M Babita Devi (Heingang), Dr N Bijoy (Khurai), A Rajen Sharma (Wangkhei), RK Dorendra (Yaiskul) and Th Shyam Kumar (Andro).

Other candidates who filed their nomination papers today include David K Shimray (Ind) in 45 Chingai, D Thaisei (INC) in 47 Karong, RK Theko (INC) in 48 Mao and Francis Ngajokpa (INC) in 49 Tadubi.

Dr AK Manglemjao (Ind) in 31 Thoubal, Keisam Meghachandra (INC), Lisam Chandrakishore (Ind) and Lairellakpam Raghumani (Ind) in 32 Wangkhem, Nongmaikappam Sobhakiran (MPP) and Moirangthem Tombi (Ind) in 33 Heirok, Laishram Jatra (MPP) in 35 Khangabok, Yengkhom Surchandra (INC) in 37 Kakching, Mayengbam Manihar (MSCP) and Haji Abdul Salam (INC) in 36 Wabagai, Maibam Kunjo (NCP) and Elangbam Dwijamani (INC) in 38 Hiyanglam, Kangujam Ranjit (INC) and Mayanglambam Binod (MPP) in 39 Sugnu and Md Helaluddin Khan (Ind) in 30 Lilong.

JD (S) : The JD (S) has named six candidates in the first phase.

The JD (S) candidates are Sitara Begum in Kshetrigao A/C, G Dimjit in Yaiskul A/C, Th Toni Meetei in Keirao A/C, KL Kapur Anal in Chandel A/C, K Khonggol in Sugnu A/C and W Muba in Lamlai A/C.Meanwhile, BJP has announced two candidates in the second phase today.

They are Heikrujam Nabashyam in Singjamei A/C and Rose Mangshi in Saitu A/C.The Manipur Pradesh Congress Committee is also expected to release second phase of candidates' name tomorrow.