Senapati set to go to polls under kidnap cloud
Source: The Sangai Express

Imphal, January 28: Like in Ukhrul, the election fight in Senapati district is poised to be between the UNC backed candidates and Congress candidates, but with the shadow of the kidnapping of two ten year old kids looming over district.

Of the six ACs in the district, three fall under Sadar Hills sub-division where the UNC does not enjoy any clout and hence has not named any of its candidates.

The fight between the UNC backed candidates and the Congress will therefore be seen in the three Naga dominated ACs, namely Mao AC, Tadubi AC and Karong AC.

The other three ACs which are dominated by the Kuki people but nevertheless have a sizeable population of Nepali people are Saitu AC, Saikul AC, and Kangpokpi AC.

The election at Karong AC promises to be interesting for Henry Paotei who represented this AC in the last Assembly as a FPM candidate has resigned from the party and is contesting as an Independent candidate.

Clearly a case of the UNC's diktat scoring home.

DD Thaisii is the INC choice in this Constituency while RV Shirang, a green horn, is the choice of the UNC.

At Mao AC, there is the veteran RK Thekho as the INC candidate while the chosen one of the UNC is S Kho John who has been in the limelight as a student leader for years.

Thekho is amongst the few Naga MLAs who did not cow down to the stand of the UNC and remained loyal to the Congress.

Other than Thekho another veteran is also in the fray here in the person of M Thorii.

At Tadubi the fight again seems to be between INC nominee Francis Ngajokpa and UNC backed candidate K Raina.

Raina had earlier represented this AC as a FPM nominee.

Kangpokpi will see six candidates in the fray and all eyes will be on the sitting MLA Thangminlien Kipgen of the NPP, who has represented this Constituency during the last few terms.

Haokholal Hangshing is the INC's choice.

One of the few women candidates in the fray this time, Rose Mangshi Haokip of the BJP is set to lend some colour and flavour to the election at Saitu AC.

Ngamthang Haokip of the INC is the sitting MLA.

Saikul AC has been the stronghold of Chungkhokai Doungel of the INC for years and this time too the status quo may remain.

A total of three candidates are in the fray this time to round off the list.