Two more added to UNC poll list
Source: The Sangai Express

Imphal, January 20: The United Naga Council (UNC) today named two more candidates for the ensuing Ninth State Assembly elections slated for February month.

The listed names include RV Shirang representing Karong assembly constituency and S Kho John from Mao AC, informed UNC president Paul Leo while talking to The Sangai Express.

Paul further conveyed that since the UNC is to sponsor 11 Naga consensus candidates, the remaining ones would be declared in no time after holding another round of meeting of the review committee.

After all the 11 candidates are named a full fledged poll campaign would be rolled out by the respective candidates with the support of the Council and its constituent units, he said while reiterating that functionaries of the Nagaland-based Naga Hoho and NSF would join the poll campaign.

Mention may be made that 60 intending Naga candidates signed an eight point declaration adopted at Taphou village of Senapati district that mainly focused on the Naga integration issue.

The Council had named its five sponsored candidates yesterday out of 11 projected for the said polls.

The other UNC sponsored candidates announced yesterday are N Awangbow (Tamei), K Raina (Tadubi), Dr Khasim Ruivah (Chingai), Danny Shaiza (Ukhrul) and Wungnaoshang Keishing (Phungyar).