State brace up for polls, papers filled
Source: The Sangai Express

Imphal, January 19: While election fever is gaining momentum with each passing day, State authorities are leaving no stone unturned to ensure the democratic exercise take place peacefully.

Reflecting such a gripping scenario is a meeting of top officials drawn from the Central paramilitary and State police forces taking note of the situation during a meeting of Nodal Officers today.

Informing the matter to news persons at the DIPR office this evening, Chief Electoral Officer RR Rashmi said that the Nodal Officers' meeting also attended by the Deputy Election Commissioner JP Prakash focused on the security aspect of the ensuing polls to be conducted in three phases.

Among others the meeting decided to increase presence of Central forces to two section instead of the previously estimated one section each for every polling stations classified as hyper-sensitive and located at isolated and distant zones, informed Rashmi and added that arrival of additional Central para-military force personnel might start tomorrow.

Deployment of para-military forces at other polling stations will remain the same as was decided earlier.

Recalling that necessary order by relevant authorities had already been issued asking licensed arms holders to deposit their weapons as part of safety measures for the Ninth State Assembly elections, the CEO also informed that video coverage of the polling process would be done randomly.

An official team under the Deputy election Commissioner JP Prakash would travel to Thoubal and Ukhrul districts tomorrow to take stock of election-related development, he informed.

Meanwhile, candidates for the assembly segments of Thoubal, Senapati, Ukhrul districts and Kangpokpi sub-division today began filing nomination papers.

Those who officially joined the fray for the Thoubal Assembly Constituencies franchise of which will be held in the first phase include ksh Irabot (MPP/Kakching) Md Fazur (NCP/Wabagai), E Biramani (CPI/Hiyanglam), Md Allauddin (NCP/Lilong), L Tomba (MPP/Thoubal), P Munal (BJP/Wangkhem), M Okendro (Cong/Heirok), Dr M Nara (CPI/Wangjing-Tentha), Haji Asrab (SP/Khangabok).

Kangpokpi: Kishore Thapa (Ind/Kangpokpi), Semkholal Haokip (RJD/Saitu), Ngamthang Haokip (Cong/Saitu), Thangminlen Kipgen (NPP/Kangpokpi).

Ukhrul: Dr Khashim Ruivah (Ind/Chingai), Danny Shaiza (Ind/Ukhrul), Somi Keishing (Ind/Phungyar), A Aza (Cong/Ukhrul), Tuireishing Longva (Ukhrul), Valley Rose Hungyo (NNP/Phungyar).

Senapati (all independents): RV Sharang (Karong), benjamin Bani (Karong), SP Henry (Karong), S Kho John (Mao), TH Sokhojou (Mao), M Thorii (Mao), K Raina (Tadubi), N Kaysii (Tadubi).