96 in fray for Phase-1; Phase-II notice issued
Source: The Sangai Express

Imphal, January 20: While the total number of candidates for the first phase polling stood at 96, the Chief electoral Officer, manipur has issued notification for conduct of the second phase elections in 29 assembly constituencies for the Ninth State Legislative Assembly.

As per the notice, last date for filing nomination papers will be January 27 with the scrutiny process to be taken up two days later while withdrawal of nomination would be entertained till January 31.The franchise date to seal fate of aspirants spread across the three districts of Imphal West, Imphal East and Bishnupur will be on February 14 in between 7 am till 3.30 pm.

Assembly segments going to the polls in the second phase are Khundrakpam, Heingang, Khurai, Kshetrigao, Thongju, Keirao, Andro, Lamlai, Thangmeiband, Uripok, Sagolband, Keishamthong, Singjamei, Yaiskul, Wangkhei, Sekmai (SC), Lamshang, Konthoujam, Patsoi, Langthabal, Naoriya-Pakhanglakpa, Wangoi, Mayang Imphal, Nambol, Oinam, Bishnupur, Moirang, Thanga and Kumbi.

Meanwhile, 25 individuals today appended their candidatures for the first phase polling to be held on February 8 for election of 19 representatives spread across Thoubal, Ukhrul and Senapati districts.

With an election notification for the first phase polling setting today as the deadline for filing nomination papers the total number of contestants have reached 96 as per record compiled till late evening.

The scrutiny will be taken up on January 22 while the withdrawal of candidature lapses on January 23.Candidates who filed nominations today include Md Helaluddin Khan RJD/Lilong), Moirangthem Toto (Ind/Heirok), Moirangthem Shyambi (Ind/Heirok), Moirangthem Rame (LJS/Wangjing-Tentha), Sagolsem Ibochoubi (RJD/Wangjing-Tentha), Khundrakpam Angou (Ind/Khangabok), Th Tomba (CPI/Kakching), Abdul Satar Yumkhaibam (Ind/kakching), Achou Sorokhaibam (LJS/Sugnu), Khwairakpam Iboyaima (RJD/Sugnu), S Lo (Ind/Kangpokpi), LS John (Ind/Kangpokpi), S Daphya (Ind/Kangpokpi), L David (LJS/Kangpokpi), Tek Bahadur (Ind/Kangpokpi), Anand Bista (NNP/Kangpokpi), Paolenmang Kipgen (LJS/Saikul), Haokholet Kipgen (Ind/Saitu), Jamkhosei Kipgen (LJS/Saitu), Rose Mangsi Haokip (BJP/Saitu), Haokholal hanshing (INC-Ind/Saitu), haokhongam Guite (LJS/Ukhrul), AS Arthur (INC/Ukhrul), Amrita Ningsen (Ind/Phungyar), SP Henery (Ind/Karong).