Commitee for polls advt constituted
Source: The Sangai Express / Manipur Information Centre

New Delhi, January 19: The Chief Electoral Officer, Manipur has constituted a 3-member committee to receive and dispose of applications of advertisements to be telecast on television channel and cable network by political parties, candidates and others in connection with the Manipur Assembly Election 2007.P.K.Singh, Additional Chief Electoral Officer, Manipur will be the chairperson of the committee.

.AIbocha Singh, Returning Officer of 1-Inner Manipur Parliamentary Constituency and M.Kanan Kumar Singh, Assistant Station Director, All India Radio, Imphal are the members, according to a notification issued on last Thursday.

The notification says that the committee will entertain applications for certification for advertisement on television channel and cable network by all registered political parties.

Further, the Returning officer No.1Inner Manipur Parliamentary Constituency has been declared as Designated Officer for the purpose of entertaining applications for individual candidate contesting in the election.

The applications for certification of any advertisements by every registered political parties and every contesting candidates shall be made to the Committee or the Designated Officer, as the case may be, not later than three days prior to the date of commencement of the telecast of such advertisements.

Such applications shall be disposed of within two days of its receipt.

Where any other person or unregistered political parties send an application for certification of advertisement, it will have to be made not later than seven days prior to the date of telecast.

The application should be submitted in a prescribed format accompanied with the required documents.