LS polls: Looking back, looking a little ahead
Source: The Sangai Express

Imphal, March 14: With the Lok Sabha elections just round the corner, political parties in the State are very likely to announce the names of their respective candidates for both the Inner and Outer parliamentary constituencies within the next few days.

For the BJP, Ex MP Th Chaoba is mostly likely to be given the party's ticket in the Inner Parliamentary Constituency even though the party has not formally announced anything on the issue till today.

Mention may be made here that Th Chaoba was first elected as an MP in 1996 from the Indian National Congress ticket and was re-elected again in 1998 and 1999 as an MSCP candidate defeating FPM's Nongmaithem Pahari, MPP's O Joy and MPP's Khaidem Mani respectively.

It is also speculated that the mostly likely candidates who would be facing BJP's heavy weight Th Chaoba in the upcoming polls are INC's Dr Th Meinya, FPM's Dr L Chandramani and CPI's Dr M Nara.

Dr Th Meinya, Indian National Congress' most probable candidate for the upcoming polls was elected from the Konthoujam AC in the last Assembly election as a DRPP candidate but later on defected to the INC to become the Higher and Technical Education Minister in the present Congress led SPF Govt.Being a Congress candidate with over thirty Congress MLAs backing him besides the support of the MSCP MLAs, Dr Th Meinya will be one of the strong contenders for the Inner seat among the State's political heavy weights in the upcoming polls.

In case the DPA fails to project a consensus candidate for the Lok Sabha Polls, FPM the largest regional party in the State with its number of MLAs next only to Congress is likely to field Dr L Chandramani, a seasoned politician as its candidate for the Inner Parliamentary Constituency.

Dr Chandramani, a well known politician is a former Speaker of the State Assembly who also held the Deputy Chief Minister post during the regime of Nipamacha.

He is most likely to be supported by the MNC and DRPP even though there has been a lot of differences among the DPA partners.

Even if the Congress rejects the CPI's consensus candidate nominee for the Inner parliamentary constituency, CPI will be projecting Dr M Nara as its candidate for the Inner seat as the party has already passed a resolution on the issue.

It may be noted here that Dr M Nara is a very senior politician of the State elected from Wanjing Tentha AC during the last Assembly elections.

Dr M Nara will not be a pushover in the upcoming elections and expectations are also very high from the party's side due to the presence of a large number of CPI vote banks both in the Outer and Inner Parliamentary Constituency of the State.

Another would be candidate for the upcoming polls is the veteran politician and Opposition leader Dr Nimaichand Luwang of MPP who is well known for speaking out against the Govt on many sensitive issues in many of the State Assembly sessions.